Connect with us

Chinese Super League

Muriqui helps Evergrande to victory in 100th game

Guangzhou Evergrande 3-0 Dalian Aerbin

Muriqui 37′, Conca 68′, Rong Hao 87′

Chinese Super League Round 20

Guangzhou Evergrande maintained their 14-point lead at the top of the top of the Chinese Super League on Monday night, with Brazilian forward Muriqui beginning the rout on the night that he and captain Zheng Zhi celebrated their 100th appearance for the Cantonese club.

It was a typical outing for Evergrande this season, with the side getting off to a slow start despite dominating possession of the ball.

For the opening half an hour, the league leaders were limited to shots from range—with both Dario Conca and Elkeson going close from free-kicks. It was Aerbin, though,who had the best chance, as Yu Dabao slipped through striker Guillaume Hoarau, who rounded the ‘keeper only to take too long, allowing Zheng Zhi and Zeng Cheng to recover.

Within minutes, Evergrande were ahead. A short corner from Zheng Long saw Conca pick out Muriqui outside the penalty area, with the Brazilian making no mistake as he curled home his shot from 20 yards.

The dominance continued after the break, although chances remained limited. Shortly after the hour mark, though, the second goal arrived as right-back Zhang Linpeng stormed forward and chipped a cross to the back post for Conca to head home his ninth goal of the season.

With the game over, coach Marcello Lippi opted to rotate his side with Evergrande now facing a fun of four games in the space of 14 days.

However, it was substitute Rong Hao who finished off the hosts’ impressive display. Muriqui burst into the area, linking sharply with Gao Lin, before pulling the ball back to Rong who was left to slot the ball into the gaping net.

The hosts were well worth their win on the night, and fully justified the 30-point advantage they currently hold over Aerbin in the CSL. Evergrande will now be back in action in Changchun on Friday night.

Guangzhou Evergrande: Zeng Cheng; Zhang Linpeng, Feng Xiaoting, Kim Young-Gwon, Sun Xiang; Zheng Zhi, Zhao Xuri, Zheng Long (Gao Lin 60′), Conca (Feng Junyan 85′), Muriqui; Elkeson (Rong Hao 79′).

Dalian Aerbin: Zhang Chong; Zhao Heqing (Sun Bo), Jin Pengxiang, Mullen, Chen Lei; Lv Peng (Baha 77′), Li Xuepeng, Yu Dabao (Dong Xuesheng 62′), Keita, Chen Tao; Hoarau.

Based in Guangzhou, Christopher covers Chinese football for a range of media outlets worldwide and is Wild East Football's lead editor for news content.   His work can regularly be seen on ESPN FC, Bleacher Report and Hupu amongst other media outlets, while he has interviewed a number of leading figures in Chinese football.

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

More in Chinese Super League